Have you got what it takes to be an award-winning healthcare innovator?

Posted on 18 February 2019 (Permalink)

Nominations for the annual Meridian Awards – A Celebration of Innovation are now open.

Last year teams from healthcare, industry, academia and the not-for-profit sector vied to take one of the coveted healthcare innovator awards organised by the West Midlands Academic Health Science Network (WMAHSN).

The awards will be presented at a glitzy ceremony at the WMAHSN's annual stakeholder event in the summer, and reflect the WMAHSN's dual aim of improving health and creating wealth.

This year the categories are:

•           MidTECH Award for Best NHS-Developed Innovation

•           Economic Development Award

•           Digital or Artificial Intelligence Innovation of the Year Award

•           Patient Safety Award

•           Advanced Diagnostics, Genomics and Precision Medicine Award

•           Adoption of Innovation Award

•           Meridian Award

A panel of experts will assess the entries, with shortlisted entries invited to attend the ceremony in July. As well as a trophy, winners will receive promotion of their win through print and digital channels, support from the WMAHSN communications team to raise their profile, mentoring and support to adopt the innovation across the region and a winner’s logo for email signatures and websites. Those shortlisted for the MidTECH Award will have a chance of receiving a share of a £10,000 prize fund which will be decided by our expert panel.

Once again, this year’s awards celebrate the Meridian Innovation Health Exchange, the WMAHSN’s pioneering interactive online exchange for anyone to share their innovations and ideas, build groups and networks and make contact with people whose innovations could change healthcare in the West Midlands. The platform helps innovators showcase their innovations and allows industry, social enterprises and academic institutions to collaborate with the NHS and industry on innovation challenges.

Tammy Holmes, Innovation Exchange Lead at WMAHSN, said: "The 2019 Meridian Awards acknowledge and reward the hard work and amazing innovation happening throughout the West Midlands. We’re looking for innovators from across the healthcare sector: industry, NHS, academia, social enterprise and the third sector who have already engaged with the WMAHSN in some way.

“The judges will be looking for entries in all categories to have proof of a collaborative approach to identifying the problem and developing the innovation, along with clear evidence that the innovation has been implemented effectively.

“Nominations will have had some contact with the WMAHSN and must show evidence of patient involvement, the impact of the innovation on patient outcomes and value for money, and need to be demonstrably scalable, whether across the UK, Europe or even internationally."

The closing date for all entries is 12 noon on Friday 19 April. If you have any queries, please contact Tammy Holmes on tammy.holmes@wmahsn.org or call 0121 371 8061.

Awards criteria, as well as the application forms, are available on the Meridian platform at https://meridian.wmahsn.org/subdomain/meridian/end/node/3044.